PEPPERMINT– To me, peppermint has a fresh, clean scent that reminds me of candy canes and Christmas, but to many insects it smells horrible. It will also leave you smelling fresh and arboreal! Do I need vodka or witch hazel to make the spray. Most commercial bug repellents contain DEET (N, N -Diethyl- meta -toluamide), a chemical originally created by the United States Army after their experiences in the jungles during World War II. I’m a complete novice with this so would love feedback. will this damage the product in any way? I see where they are coming in put the oils on the area and bam gone for a long time like weeks. Cedar is helpful at repelling many pesky bugs like mosquitoes, flies, and silverfish. Yes. To use:  shake well and spray on dog’s coat until damp. Store ought stuff was not working so my daughter and I busted out the oils. I make bathroom room sprays all the time. Make a DIY Bug-Repelling bracelet:  Simply braid cotton fabric or leather and wrap around your wrist. DIY Homemade Bug Repellent with Essential Oils: Spray-On homemade room spray–  fill 8 oz glass spray bottle about 3/4 full with distilled water, then fill most of the rest of the way full with witch hazel, and add 20 drops sweet orange, 10 drops lemon, 10 drops eucalyptus, and 10 drops lavender essential oil. 2 drops vetiver :  In a spray bottle, combine 1 cup of vodka with 20 drop lavender, 20 drops eucalyptus, and 10 drops tea tree. Thanks! This is great! If that’s you, here are the top bug repellents I recommend: I am so happy to keep the bugs away by using a natural product that is free of nasty chemicals. Mix 15 drops of peppermint essential oil and a cup of water in a spray bottle. DIY flea & tick spray for dogs:  In an 8 ounce spray bottle, combine 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons aloe vera gel, 1 tablespoon sweet almond oil, 10 drops sweet orange, 10 drops lavender, 10 drops cedarwood, 5 drops peppermint, and 5 drops lemongrass. From the kitchen to the bathroom. Otherwi